Chagall Guevara

[Image: 'Chagall Guevara' Front Cover]

© 1991 MCA Records, Inc.
CD, CD Longbox, LP, Cassette


Track Listing

  1. Murder In The Big House (3:48)
  2. Escher's World (4:14)
  3. Play God (3:43)
  4. Monkey Grinder (6:59)
  5. Can't You Feel The Chains? (3:09)
  6. Violent Blue (4:01)
  7. Love Is A Dead Language (4:10)
  8. Take Me Back To Love Canal (3:18)
  9. The Wrong George (1:58)
  10. Candy Guru (4:07)
  11. I Need Somebody (3:33)
  12. The Rub Of Love (4:13)
  13. If It All Comes True (3:35)

About The Album

From Now The Truth Can Be Told Liner Notes & Song-By-Song Essays, Now The Truth Can Be Told Insert Booklet, August 23rd, 1994:

There are certain mysteries on which Chagall Guevara's peculiar cult of fans could forever theorize: What if they'd actually toured? What if they'd been less of a democracy and more the servile puppets of an industry-savvy manager? What if they'd had a name we could all pronounce? What if they hadn't signed with MCA?

God works in mysterious ways, beloved Guevarians. Yours is not to wonder why, yours is but to listen carefully and try to figure out just exactly what these songs are saying. Because, despite considerable carping to the contrary by those who want the Cliff Notes before they read the novel, all the songs were chock full of profundity, spiritual and otherwise. And just because that fact escaped the Manilow-weaned masses due to what I'm sure is an internaional conspiracy, that doesn't mean you were wrong in smelling greatness. Think of all the people who couldn't pronounce Van Gogh!

Which brings me to the point of my unseemly braggadocio. We weren't a lot of fun to interview, because we didn't like to explain our lyrics. In keeping with the request of the deceased, I shall do likewise.